piCture pOlish Blog Fest 2012! “Orbit” and “Amethyst” Swatches

I am coming to you LIVE from a hotel room in Walt DisneyWorld! How hard core am I blogging on vacation!

Finally!!! I am no good with keeping secrets!!!! 🙂 Its been a tough month!!!

I am so EXCITED to share this post with you!

Its finally July 30th and today piCture pOlish launches Blog Fest 2012, where a bunch of different bloggers get to showcase piCture pOlish’s new collections! As you know piCture pOlish was the first “indie” brand that I ever purchased from Ninja Polish (but you can also purchase from another USA seller Llarowe , I have purchased other “indie” brands from her ) so I am so over the moon that our blog was chosen to participate in this worldwide blogging event.

I was sent “Orbit” and “Amethyst” to review, which are two new polishes from piCture pOlish. “Orbit” is part of the new “Mesh” Shades (one of nine awesome shades) and “Amethyst” is part of the new ‘Collaboration Collection’ (one of seven), which I want every color in this collection!!!

So I won’t keep you waiting because I can’t wait any longer!! (I couldn’t sleep last night and when I did I was dreaming about this post!!)

Here we have “Orbit”:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Since I am new to the nail art scene, I tried a couple different ways to use “Orbit” in an attempt at nail art but they didn’t work out because I am no good..lol, so when all else fails use a dotting tool!

I started with a navy base, then I dotted “Orbit” and a matte top coat.

image

image

Description: “Orbit” is a navy blue polish LOADED (see pictures) with silver “mesh” particles, which isn’t glitter- but it shines and sparkles like no tomorrow! Once dry (I believe because of the “mesh” particles) “Orbit”  looks as if the polish has a 3D texture, but its SMOOTH to the touch…very cool!

Rating overall (excellent, good, fair, poor): Excellent!

Color (1-5): 5

Formula (excellent, good, fair, poor): Excellent as all piCuture pOlishes are! These Girls know how to produce a fabulous product.

Coats: 2 coats of “Orbit”, however the formula was so opaque I could have used just one coat.

Base coat/ Top coat: I did use a base coat but I didn’t need a  top coat, “Orbit” dries super smooth so there was no need.

Stains: Did not stain during clean-up or after removal, which is AMAZING for dark blue polishes since they always tend to stain.

Dry time (fast, normal, slow): Fast!

Clean-up (easy, messy, hard): Messy. If you get some of the polish on your cuticles you might have a hard time taking off the mesh particles even with acetone, but once you wash your hands it comes off.

Removal (fast, normal, slow): Normal, I always use a cotton ball that has been soaked in acetone. I place a cotton ball on each nail and press down for a little over a minute and than as I am pressing down I wipe the polish off in one easy swoop 🙂

Price: 9.50 (au dollars) for a ll ml bottle

Would I recommend to a friend: Yes

Here we have the Fabulous “Amethyst”

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I had a couple of different loose glitter mixes and I found one that went perfect with this shade! The mix contains black stars, translucent pink hearts, little purple glitter dust, navy blue hex glitter, translucent pink hex glitter and silver hex glitter! So pretty and it looked gorgeous on top of “Amethyst”.

To achieve this look, I applied a clear top coat to “Amethyst”,  then I dipped one of my fingers on my free hand in the glitter mix. I then pressed the glitter mix on each painted finger one at a time just on the tips. It was the first time I tried this, since I haven’t really done nail art but it came out how I pictured it. To seal the glitter mix I topped it with a clear top coat once it was dry.

image

image

image

Description: “Amethyst” is a beautiful light shade of purple with blue shimmer and little tiny flakes!  “Amethyst”  is also  part of piCture pOlish’s new ‘Collaboration Collection” that will be available for purchase today! “Amethyst” was jointly created by Susan of Star Trinkets (the Singapore Network seller) and this shade is EXCLUSIVE to piCture pOlish on-line and Star Trinkets , so you won’t be able to purchase this amazing shade anywhere else!!!!

Rating overall (excellent, good, fair, poor): Excellent!

Color (1-5): 5

Formula (excellent, good, fair, poor): Excellent as all piCuture pOlishes are!

Coats: 2 coats of “Amethyst”, however the formula was so opaque I could have used just one coat.

Base coat/ Top coat: No base or Top coat used,  “Amethyst” drys so shiny and smooth you don’t need a top coat.

Stains: Did not stain during clean-up or after removal.

Dry time (fast, normal, slow): Fast!

Clean-up (easy, messy, hard): Messy. If you get some of the polish on your cuticles you might have a hard time taking off the shimmer even with acetone, but once you wash your hands it comes off.

Removal (fast, normal, slow): Normal, I always use a cotton ball that has been soaked in acetone. I place a cotton ball on each nail and press down for a little over a minute and than as I am pressing down I wipe the polish off in one easy swoop 🙂

Price: 9.50 (au dollars) for a ll ml bottle

Would I recommend to a friend: Yes

Where to purchase:

www.picturepolish.com.au

The Network (worldwide sellers)

Go show some love on facebook!

– Megan ❤

(These polishes were sent to me for review)

 

Click on this link to view posts from Blog Fest 2012!!

Comments
12 Responses to “piCture pOlish Blog Fest 2012! “Orbit” and “Amethyst” Swatches”
  1. love the nail art!

  2. i want both of these!! so pretty! they officially just went on my wish list

  3. Lindsey B. says:

    A few things. #1 Beautiful swatches, I’m dying to get my hands on Amethyst! #2 This is my first time to your blog, it’s way cute =]! #3 I. LOVE. DISNEY. It made me so happy to read that you’re in Disney World right now! Have a blast and take plenty of pics to share with us =]!

  4. Thank you for your wonderful swatches and high rating for Amethyst! Love your photos!

  5. Those are gorgeous. Seriously.

  6. RobynG says:

    Thank you for liking my blog post today!

  7. Ginny says:

    Those polishes look awesome and your nails are beautifully done! Where can I find these polishes?

Leave a comment