Beauty starts from within…. Twolacqueredgirls.com gets healthy!

wpid-PicsArt_1374424575170.jpg

 

I know that a lot of you have been waiting for this post for a while, like everything else it has taken me awhile to write this post. About three months ago I had a health scare that turned out to be nothing serious thankfully! But my Cardiologist said that I needed to lose weight in order to prevent future health problems so she put me on a detox program, which is more like a lifestyle change.

With this program you can eat as much as you want, you shouldn’t feel hungry. I like that this program was laid out for me and the list of food that I was able to eat and was easy to follow.Β  I did the program for ten days and lost 8 pounds, I was still eating the foods from the list everyday after day ten. However, I did allow myself one “cheat day” every week, in which I ate foods that were not on the list and within a month I was able to keep off 10 pounds. Sadly, I gained the 10 pounds back after being on vacation. Now I am determined to stay on this plan and get healthy!

wpid-PicsArt_1369975473211.jpg

So This is me on May 31st and today (July 21st) since I am at the same weight starting again. It’s very upsetting that I’m having such a hard time controlling myself, but I need to start today! So every month on this date I will do an update on my health πŸ™‚

As of right now I feel tired and all around crappy, I’m sure that has a lot to do with the foods I am eating now – fast food, pizza, fried anything, cookies…

So here we go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

This is the shopping list of foods that I am able to eat:

 

Vegetables: (fresh or frozen)

Alfalfa Sprouts

Artichoke

Arugula

Asparagus

Avocado

Beets

Bok Choy

Brussels sprouts

Cabbage

Carrots

Cauliflower

Celery

Cilantro

Cucumber

Eggpant

Endive, escarole

Green or yellow beans

Greens ( mustard, arugula, beet, turnip, chard)

Jicama

Kale

Kohlrabi

Lettuce (all kinds)

Okra

Olives

Onions, Leeks, Garlic, Shallots, Scallions

Peppers

Potatoes

Radishes

Rutabaga

Sea Vegetables

Spinach

Summer squash

Sweet potatoes/yams

Taro

Tomatoes (canned and fresh)

Turnips, parsips

Water chestnuts

Winter squash

Zucchini

 

Fish:

Cod

Flounder

Halibut

Mahi mahi

Salmon

Sole

Tilapia

Trout

 

Fruits: (Fresh or frozen)

Apples

Applesauce (unsweetened)

Apricot

Banana

Berries (all kinds)

Cherries

Kiwi

Lemons/limes

Mango

Melon (all kinds)

Nectarine

Papaya

Peach

Pear

Pineapple

Plum

Prunes, raisins

 

Rice/Grains

Amaranth

Buckwheat

Gluten-free oats

Millet

Quinoa & quinoa flakes

Rice, rice bread (unsweetened), rice cereal, rice cakes, rice pasta

Tapioca

Teff

 

Legumes:

Beans (all kinds)

Hummus

Lentils

Peas (all kinds)

 

Nuts/Seeds:

Almonds & almond butter

Cashews & cashewbutter

Coconut

Flaxseed

Hazelnuts

Pecans

Pine nuts

Pumpkin seeds

Sesame seeds

Sunflower seeds

Tahini

Walnuts

 

Spices/ Condiments:

All herbs and spices

Dry mustard

Oils ( almond, extra virgin olive, pumpkin, safflower, sesame, sunflower, walnut, flaxseed, coconut, canola)

Vinegar (all kinds)

 

Sweeteners:

Brown rice syrup

Blacktrap molasses

Fruit sweetener

Stevia

 

Beverages:

Almond milk

Coconut milk

Hemp milk

Herbal tea, decaffeinated

Juices from allowable fruits without added sugar

Rice milk

Water

 

So do you have any tips for staying away from unhealthy foods?

wpid-PicsArt_1370296215861.jpg

 

Comments
9 Responses to “Beauty starts from within…. Twolacqueredgirls.com gets healthy!”
  1. Craftynail says:

    Cool! I need to go on a program too. From your list of foods it looks like no bread. Is that what your dietician recommended? Maybe I need to do that !

  2. Good luck!! I’m right there with you, I started WW online 4/29 πŸ™‚

    • MeganfromTLG says:

      Awesome! How is that going for you? I was thinking about doing WW online. I’ve tried doing the meetings a couple of years ago… more than once and could never stick to it :/

      • I am down ……. a wee bit over 21 lbs. So far so good! I did the meetings about 16 yrs ago and did well (selection plan) but fell out of it. The online program is really helpful, has tools to calculate recipe values, etc, I like it. I will certainly be following your progress. I wish I was brave enough to post before pics. πŸ™‚ Good luck!!

  3. Sarah says:

    Good luck! I’m definitely going to use your list. πŸ™‚

  4. Good luck with this! Lots of water is the best tip – keeps hunger at bay and helps your skin look clear and fresh.

  5. bryanna says:

    My tip would be to ALWAYS have the healthy option available. I love healthy food because it makes me feel good. But when fast food or junk food is Right There in a pre-packaged bite sized container, its so much easier to just grab that. So instead of giving in, I make sure to pack up all my healthy options in prepackaged little tupperware and baggies so the convenience isn’t a deciding factor.

Leave a Reply

