Twolacqueredgirls.com Welcomes Guest Blogger Cameo from Cameo Colours Lacquers!

Note from Editor: As you know I love Cameo and her polish! But When I saw this mani on IG, I had to ask her to do a guest post! It’s beautiful!

Hey everybody, Cameo of Cameo Colours Lacquers here! Megan has asked me to do a guest post, so here I am!Β  So, in addition to creating polish, I also happen to be a polishaholic…Who knew, right? πŸ˜‰ However, nail art is something that eludes me, so I generally don’t bother with attempting any.

Β  On Thursday, I received my first Illamasqua polishes, and immediately put on two coats of Cameo. It’s a lovely cornflower blue with my name on it, you know I HAD to have a bottle!Β  As I sat admiring the color, the idea to try a saran wrap mani crept into my head, and so I decided to give it a shot. I used too similar a second color in my initial attempt. It was pretty, but very subtle…So I’m writing about my second go instead!

PicsArt_1371875721556

You’ll need:
– Two or more nail colors
– A surface on which to drip polish
– A piece of saran wrap for each color
– Top coat
– Polish remover and a brush or
Qtips for cleanup.

Step 1. Choose a base color, and do two coats. I used Illamasqua Noble.Β  Remember to wrap the polish around the tip of your free edge for a longer lasting manicure.Β  Allow it to dry completely.

Step 2. Choose the other colors you’d like to achieve the look you want. I used Sinful Colors Sugar Rush and Sinful Colors Orange Cream.

Step 3. Drip a few drops of your
second color onto your surface. I used a piece of aluminum foil.Β  Lightly dab your balled up piece of saran wrap into the polish and then dab it gently across your nail. Repeat for each nail.

If you are using additional colors, wait a few minutes for the previous color to dry before repeating step three for each color with a fresh piece of balled up saran wrap.

Step 4. Do clean up around your nails with your remover.

Step 5. Top coat your mani, and once again, don’t forget to wrap your tips!

I wanted to note that the instructions I originally followed for mine wereΒ  different for step 3.

Instead of dabbing the polish from a surface onto the nail with the saran wrap, it said to paint a thin coat of the second color over the first, a then dab with the saran wrap.

This method does work, but unless you’re perfectly painting over the
entirety of your base color, you’ll have a bit of a border at the base of your nail between the colors.

PicsArt_1372013156570

PicsArt_1372013310544

PicsArt_1372013433958

Thanks for reading, enjoy!

Comments
5 Responses to “Twolacqueredgirls.com Welcomes Guest Blogger Cameo from Cameo Colours Lacquers!”
  1. That is really pretty! I need to try this but am nail art shy.

  2. pearlsnheels says:

    Your nail look incredible! I love the cotton candy colors. Love the tips in the tutorial, very easy to follow, thanks for the great post! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

