Makeup Mondays: Neutrogena hand cream. Read this post if you want healthy cuticles!

wpid-PicsArt_1359932589184.jpg

 

It starts with a manicure: It was supposed to be a lovely, shiny, expensive treat. You deserved it (you work so hard). And you could’ve taken on the world, you looked so good. Then you went outside, washed your hands, opened doors, reached into purses-why must you be so cavalier with your fingers? It wasn’t long before wear and tear of everyday life chapped, cracked and chipped its was through your poor hands. Now you’re not sure what hurts more, your feeling, or your cuticles. – Neutrogena

 

image

 

Did reading that make your stomach hurt and head spin?

Cuticles… My cuticles were my wrost enemy, until I tried Neutrogena hand cream. I never though that it was possible that my cuticles would ever look healthy. I was a habitual cuticle cutter… so bad that sometimes I would cut off so much skin that my cuticles would bleed. I thought that cutting was the only way to keep my cuticles looking neat. It was a vicious cycle of dry cracked cuticles, red irritated skin and hangnails galore and my only remidy was to cut.

Even though I would use loads of thick creams and oils, I still found the need to cut because I could never get my skin to stop peeling.

 

image

 

To tell you the truth, I never in my wildest dreams thought that Neutrogena’s hand cream would work. I tend to be somewhat of a brand loyalest and the cream and oil that I was using I thought was helping my cuticles.

So let’s get down to testing:

I tested Neutrogena’s hand cream for a month. Normally I use something for a couple of days and if I don’t see the results that I am looking for I just stop using the product all together (maybe that’s why I have a WHOLE drawer full of 90% full bottles of creams)

Some facts worth mentioning:

Just one dab repairs 7 signs of damage: dryness, chapping, splitting nails, dry cuticles, scaliness and roughness.

2012 Good Housekeeping Seal award winner

First hand cream to heal with concentrated glycerin

Keeps manicured hands looking beautiful

Long-lasting

Glycerin-rich

Concentrated

2oz product good for 200

Available in Original and Fragrance-free

Even though it says that just a dab is all you need, I would use a dab for each finger. What can I say I always over do it.

image

Neutrogena Hand Cream goes on clear with the constancy of petroleum jelly.

wpid-PicsArt_1359933653995.jpg

Neutrogena Hand Cream goes on clear with the constancy of petroleum jelly as you rub it into skin it turns white.

image

Neutrogena Hand Cream goes on clear with the constancy of petroleum jelly as you rub it into skin it turns white and ends up the constancy of a cream.

 

Since I would use more than the recommended dab, it would take my skin longer to fully absorb the cream, leaving it feeling a little sticky. However I did test with just using a little bit a cream about the size of a raindrop and to my surprise I was able to cover all of my cuticles (at least on one hand) without feeling sticky.

After seeing the following pictures there is no denying that this hand cream delivers on its promise and really does heal.

 

This picture was taken three months ago. In order to take this picture for a blog post, I had to put on a bunch of cream and oil because I had over cut my cuticles. You can even see that I cut myself on my ring finger.

image

Three months ago

 

This picture was taken a month ago. In order to take this picture for a blog post, I had to put on a bunch of cream to help smooth out the look of my cut-up cuticles.

This is when I started to test Neutrogena’s hand cream and in order to do so properly I stopping cutting and picking at my cuticles.

wpid-indie-nail-polish-cameo-colours-lacquers-the-gray-7-1.jpg

One month ago

 

This picture was taken a week ago, three weeks after I started using the hand cream.

Every night before bed, I would brush my nails with a nail brush and soap. Then I would use dab of cream on each finger and rub the cream in a circular motion until the cream was fully absorbed and then I would add a little more and leave it on while I slept. Then every three days, I would use a cuticle pusher to push back my cuticles.

You can see from the picture below that I have some dryness on the sides of my nails, but for the most part my cuticles look a lot better than three weeks prior.

wpid-PicsArt_1359993698142.jpg

One week ago

 

This picture was taken yesterday, four weeks after I started using the hand cream.

Five days ago I started to use the hand cream:

A dab (for the whole hand) in the morning

A dab (for the whole hand) after taking a shower

And then the same routine as before: Every night before bed, I would brush my nails with a nail brush and soap. Then I would use dab of cream on each finger and rub in a circular motion until the cream was fully absorbed and then I would add a little more and leave it on while I slept. Then every two days, I would use a cuticle pusher to push back my cuticles.

 

You can see from the picture below that my cuticles aren’t perfect but they are a whole lot healthier than they did before the start of testing this cream.

I didn’t even have to put lotion on my hand prior to taking this picture, a month ago that was unheard of!

image

Yesterday (02/03/2013)

 

Since I started testing this cream I haven’t had to cut my cuticles. I have had to snip a couple of hang nails but that is to be expected since my cuticles were so beat-up from the years of over cutting.

I’m sure that I won’t be experiencing peeling or dry cuticles if I continue the same daily routine with this cream.

image

 

Price:

$4.99 for 2oz of product

 

Where to purchase:

Where ever Neutrogena products are sold.

 

Say hi on Facebook:

www.facebook.com/neutrogena
wpid-PicsArt_1359743167583.jpg

(I received this product for my honest review as part of the BzzAngent program)

Comments
14 Responses to “Makeup Mondays: Neutrogena hand cream. Read this post if you want healthy cuticles!”
  1. Judy Hodge says:

    Your cuticles are looking great! So keep it up and don’t cut them no more!!! I never cut mine although I admit i use to ! I have about the same routine, but I use Burt’s Bee’s Lemon Butter and Hard as Hoof …I also use Julep’s cuticle oil all during the day ! I keep a bottle in my pocket at all times! Lol! And I use a ton of dif. lotions!

    • MeganfromTLG says:

      Yea staying away from cutting has been a challenge for me..lol and I have had to stop myself from picking at my skin.. old habits die hard!!!! :/ I haven’t tried hard as hoof because I could never find it anywhere but I have heard great things about it. Maybe one day…until then I will stick with this magical cream of mine..lol

      I would always use the julep creams and oils… they were my go to.. but after seeing the results of what this cream can do … I may have to put julep in the lotion of shame drawer.

  2. GeekGirl says:

    I’ll have to give this a try. I’m searching for THE lotion and I’d never even thought to try Neutrogena!

    • MeganfromTLG says:

      I hope that you try it and that it helps you! ❤ trust me I have tried and gone through almost every cream you can imagine..even using foot creams on my hands… and nothing..
      This cream works wonders… it has helped heal my dad's nasty cracked hands and in one use my sister saw a difference.. and she rips her cuticles like there is no tomorrow.
      I wouldn't have posted about it if it didn't actually help me..lol

      Happy cuticle days!! lol ❤

  3. I’m so glad that you posted this today. I love this blog (and many others) for all the cool polish, but I really need to know more about hand and nail care. My hands are looking better than they did 15 months ago before I started taking care of them, but they still have a long way to go. This is on my list of things to get the next time I’m at the drugstore. Thanks!

    • MeganfromTLG says:

      No, I am so glad you read this today! I get such joy that people are actually listening to me..lol All I want to is give information to people who are looking for it 🙂 Did you happen to read my Fancy Friday how to: posts about how to do a step by step mani and pedi and what I use to do them? You might find those posts helpful with information about nail care.

      • I didn’t read it, but now that you mention it, I will. During winter, I’m in full fledged boot mode. I live in the pacific northwest where it’s been either below freeing or in the mid 30s during the days for months now. I only see my toes during my shower. 🙂 A pedicure never occurred to me in February. I’ll store the knowledge away until sunnier days.Thanks.

  4. sortaginger says:

    Good timing on this. I noticed in my nail polish pics today how lousy my cuticles look, especially the thumbs, that I even apologized in my post. Definitely stopping by the store on my way in to work tomorrow to start trying this out!

    • MeganfromTLG says:

      Never apologize…lol don’t worry we all deal with cuticle issues. I would just drown those bad boys in lots of lotion before taking the pictures…lolololol

      I hope you get to try it out! let me know how it goes!

  5. everysensory says:

    Love the pictures, and your cuticles are looking so good! I won’t get that brand, just my animal testing thing, but they are a great brand otherwise. I like 365 Days of Color’s cuticle oils and balms, they’re amazing too. I have actually noticed how awesome your cuticles (and nails!) are looking – great job! 🙂

  6. I must say I had kinda dismissed this hand cream (I got one in my Joliebox), as it felt sticky to me. But now I’ve seen your post, I realise I was just using too much ! Thanks, you’ve saved that one from the bin 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] a color that they would actually try.  I also like the way my cuticles look this time since after the tip from Megan at TwoLaqueredGirls about the Neutrogena hand cream (I paid $4.99, also at […]



Leave a Reply

