Fancy Friday How to: Get the perfect Pedicure in Ten easy steps.

image

 

I love having my feet done! I am always wearing sandals or flip-flops because well… I live in Miami… Catch me wearing closed-toed shoes… NEVER! I love looking down and seeing perfectly shaped nails that shine like there is no tomorrow. My feet are far from perfect super model feet.. They are wide and chubby (Thanks dad!), so I have to always have them done and looking as cute as possible.

I know that sometimes it’s hard to remember to take care of your feet, like you do your hands since you aren’t always looking down at them. I am guilty of not always caring for my feet the way I should be. Sometimes when I get out of the shower I put lotion of every part of my body except my feet, even though I always use a foot file in shower so they aren’t that nasty… I hate when my heels look or feel dry so I never let them get to that point. I always file them or use a really good pumice stone, I believe that everyone should have one or the other or both in the shower (Tip: don’t share your file or stone with anyone…that’s just nasty and very unsanitary) . I tend to give them the attention that they really deserve, about once a week when I give myself a pedicure and I go all out. I love how smooth and soft my feet are after I finish giving myself a pedicure. Starting today right after I give myself my weekly pedicure, I am going to take care of my feet just as much as my hands for now on, lotion everyday!

 

So here are the Ten easy steps that I use to get my feet looking and feeling fabulous.

 

Step One: Shape!

I leave about an eighth of an inch of white showing. I like to use an ultra-fine grained fileΒ  to shape my toe nails into ovals by rounding the corners of the nail slightly. Make sure not to over-file your nails because over-filing can cause ingrown toe nails. Finish with stokes from the center outward to seal the nail.

 

Step Two: Smooth!

Minor bumps can be concealed with a basecoat, but really noticeable ridges (like I sometimes get) will require some slight buffing. Make sure to gently skim a ultra-fine grade buffer on the tops of your toe nails in the shape of an X. Only use three to five, soft, light strokes per nail, if your nails start to heat up, you are buff them way to hard and are damaging them.

 

Step Three: Soak!

I like to relax my feet in warm water for at least five minutes.

Fancy Tips: Add a cup of warm milk or a scoop of bath salts that will help soften rough skin. You could also add a few slices of lemon or lime… I like to use orange slices too because I love the smell the skins give off.

 

Step Four: Push!

Dry your feet after your soak and apply a cuticle softener. Push back your cuticles once they have been softened, wipe away the dead skin with a washcloth or paper towel. If you have any hangnails snip them with a cuticle cutter, however never cut your cuticles completely.

 

Step Five: Scrub!

Use an exfoliator to slough off dead skin and make sure to rinse.

Fancy Tip: Mix coarse salt with a couple of drops of olive oil.

 

Step Six: Soften!

Sometimes rough heels and calluses will require a little more muscle (Wonder Woman!)! While your feet are still damp, make sure to lay a towel down under them and rub you foot briskly, back and forth, with a foot file or a pumice stone. Once you feel you have rubbed enough rinse your feet and pat them dry.

 

Step Seven: Moisturize!

Slap on a bunch of lotion. Then I like to wrap my feet in a warm, damp towel and let it sit until it cools off.

 

Step Eight: Prep!

Prep those piggies! Separate your toes with a tightly twisted paper towel. Then wipe a paper towel soaked in acetone to remove any lotion or residue of your nails. Then make sure to apply a basecoat.

 

Step Nine: Paint!

Painting my toe nails is kind of a mission for me. But here is what I try to do: I try to paint thin coats of polish and to keep the brush strokes even, as not to get any polish on my cuticles.

Tip: If you happen to get some paint on your cuticles, use a thin makeup brush or a stick dipped in polish remover to use for clean up.

Seal your polish with a fast drying topcoat.

 

Step Ten: WAIT!!

The worse part of painting your toes is the wait! Smudges can happen for up to four hours later, so make sure to pay special attention to not mess up your pretty pedicure.

image

Make sure to check out twolacqueredgirls.com first Fancy Friday how to: Post

Comments
8 Responses to “Fancy Friday How to: Get the perfect Pedicure in Ten easy steps.”
  1. everysensory says:

    Cute how-to! Love the smudging comment, isn’t that the worst. What’s your go-to pedi colour?

  2. dedivahdeals says:

    You can also lather your feet in Vaseline, wrap in Saran Wrap and then in a warm towel.

  3. Reblogged this on LeslieLovesNails and commented:
    A couple days late for Fancy Friday, but great information nonetheless! Happy foot pampering!!
    Leslie πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

