Move over Velvet and Caviar, Ultra fine Glitter is where it’s at!

image

So I finally found a use for my 50 + Recollections Glitter. Yesterday I was trying to do some nail art with dotting tools and it just wasn’t working out! So I was running out of ideas and I wanted to do something cool. So I went to my closet and pulled out my huge bag of glitter and this idea was born!

I’m really happy how this experiment turned out, so happy in fact I did two more swatches just to see the colors πŸ™‚

So what do you need for this style?

– Ultra fine Glitter (in the color of your choosing)

– Clear nail polish

– Somewhere to work

– Paper towel

– Tape

What I did?

– I started with my pinky and I put on the clear polish.

– I than dipped my nail into the glitter, pulled it out and tapped off the excess glitter back into the bottle.

– Then I repeated these steps with the rest of my nails.

– Do those steps all over again starting with your pinky for the second coat.

– Once finished DO NOT put on a top coat!

Clean-up:

– Make sure to tap off all of the excess glitter.

– To clean the cuticles use a cuticle pusher wrapped in cotton dipped in polish remover.

– To remove any glitter on your skin, just use tape to peel the glitter off.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

– Megan ❀

Comments
56 Responses to “Move over Velvet and Caviar, Ultra fine Glitter is where it’s at!”
  1. RenΓ©e Kies says:

    This is so cute!

  2. nutmegan95 says:

    This is so creative and looks really cool!

  3. I love it! Now I know just what to do with the glitters that melted in polish. This is a fantastic idea!

  4. I HAVE to do this! Did you leave a trail of glitter where ever you went, or did it stick to the polish really well?

    • megis217 says:

      It made like a cement on the nail..lol I had to use a metal cuticle pusher to help break it off..lol then I used remover to take the rest off.

      So to answer your question… no lol it stayed on really well I even showered and nothing happened still looked good. πŸ™‚

  5. skaytanikpolishes says:

    Fabulous! πŸ˜€

    Keep an eye out, I’m sure CiatΓ© will come out with this soon lolz πŸ˜›

    • megis217 says:

      LmO! I know I was thinking the same thing! And they are going to charge 20 bucks and for that you could get 30 different glitters from Michael’s for the price of one of theirs.. haha

  6. am1ec says:

    ❀ this!!

  7. everysensory says:

    Love it! DId the texture drive you crazy? So gorgeous and blingy, I had some glitter put aside for this sometime, I might make that sometime really soon now – you’ve inspired me!

    • megis217 says:

      No it didn’t bother me at all. And yes try it!!! Now I have no need to buy new polish, I’ll just use glitter πŸ™‚

      • everysensory says:

        Oooh there’s a nice thought. I think there’s always going to be need to buy polish though.. hehehe. But more options are better better better! Did you get enough water?!

      • megis217 says:

        Yes I did .. I even hurt my back! But I’m not worried about that I’m worried about loosing power! Ughhhhh.

      • everysensory says:

        Hurt your back collecting water?!! Hauling it up from the stream in buckets, or in an awesome WWF move attacking someone to get the last bottle? *mind boggling* πŸ˜€ I hope you don’t lose power! It’s bad enough here, and we have plenty of backup things. If you have candles, a gas emergancy stove, marshmallows and biscuits you can make it a great adventure though. When’s it due? Just so as I know when to start worrying… πŸ™‚

      • megis217 says:

        Haha no! I just had to pick up 24 bottle packs (6 of them). We haven’t lost power, I think the storm has moved over and it’s not going to hit us. We are us going to have the outer bands of rain, which is fine by me… no school tomorrow! So I have time to work on things I didn’t get to last week because my books hadn’t arrived.
        We have a grill that’s it.. and no back up power things..lol there hasn’t been a hurricane in over 5 years and my dad hasn’t gotten anything new. boo

      • everysensory says:

        That’s a lot of water! Better safe than thirsty, well done. Argh! Maybe get a camping cooking stove thing? Ours almost never gets used, because we have a cooktop on our fire, but it’s worth its weight in lack of worry. Yay for no big storm, and me not having to spam you with messages saying ”you alright? Answer me! Argh!” hehehe

  8. Lady T says:

    I’m going to have to try that!

  9. I love working with glitter but its so messy! This looks beautiful.

  10. MK says:

    This is great!!

  11. Calosini says:

    That is such a cool look!

  12. lanerbell says:

    I love it! I wish you could put a top coat over it though. Did it shed all day long?

    • megis217 says:

      I’m sure you could put a top coat if you wanted, but I wanted that ruff affect πŸ™‚ and it didn’t shed at all, I even showered with it and nothing. Just make sure to press down when you put on the glitter πŸ™‚

  13. So beautiful! I think the black would be awesome for a fancy yet fun event. Nice cocktail nails. The thought of removing the glitter though when you’re done is enough for me to never try! 😦

  14. You need to come up with a super sexy name, do a youtube tutorial stat, and pinterest the crap out of this and then yell at them when they come out with their $20 kit. Brava you did a killer job

  15. Beauty Temptress says:

    I LOVE this! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚ Glad you’re following my blog x

  16. danaeskrobiszewski says:

    Thanks for following my blog! Really like the way your nails turned out, especially the black glitter looks nice!

  17. iluvbeautie says:

    Hey, lovin this look!! Where did you buy these glitters and for how much??

  18. Mel says:

    Wow, this is such a great idea! I love the graduation in colour – I’m not usually a fan of having my nails in different colours, but somehow it works wonderfully with the glitter. Now I just need to find an occasion to try it out…

  19. polishedandperfect says:

    Beautiful!! xx

  20. How come u dont need to put on a topcoat?

    • I didn’t want a top coat, I wanted the effect of it looking “ruff”, I pressed down on it good enough and made sure that there was no loose glitter πŸ™‚ But if you want to try it with a top coat you could do that also.

  21. iluvbeautie says:

    Love this soooo much! U inspired me to head out to my local art store and buy the glitter to do this! Thanks for the idea!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Move over Velvet and Caviar, Ultra fine Glitter is where it’s at!. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]



Leave a Reply

