Velvet Mani by Ciaté

Ciaté is quickly becoming one of the top brands in nail polish with their innovative manicures that are available to everyone. Ciaté was founded in 2002 but honestly this year is the first I ever hear of them and they are pushing through with such force with first the “caviar manicure” and now the “Velvet manicure”. I believe that they also own rights to those names meaning if we buy cheap substitutes from china through Ebay we can’t say its the “caviar” or “velvet”. apparently this was a huge deal with the caviar which is why I opted out of reviewing my cheap Ebay beads because I couldn’t find another creative name to give my look-alike manicure, any ideas?

Anyways the velvet was released just in time for fall. The colors are perfect fall colors and I can’t wait to try it. The velvet manicure is basically the same idea as the caviar only using “crushed velvet” over a wet layer of polish. I don’t know what crushed velvet means though, isn’t velvet a fabric?

vel·vet/ˈvelvət/

Noun:
  1. A closely woven fabric of silk, cotton, or nylon that has a thick short pile on one side.
  2. Soft downy skin that covers a deer’s antler while it is growing.

according to google it is! unless its #2 and its antler skin. Hahahaha!

anyways enjoy the pictures I found online! hopefully soon I will be reviewing this kit myself =)

 

The three colors available are:

1. Blue Suede

2.Berry Poncho

3.Mink Cashmere

The kit includes :

1. Nail polish (.45 oz)

2. Crushed Velvet

3. Brush

4. Tray

There is a video available on sephora.com on how to use the kit. I would suggest watching it before attempting yourself because for 19.00 USD you definitely want to get your moneys worth from the first attempt to the last =)

Has anyone tried it? if so let me know I’m very interested in knowing if its worth it. I am yet to find a review on the kit maybe I am not looking hard enough.

If you are interested in buying it, It seems like Sephora has it available but the Ciaté website does not (due to popular demand…probably from Sephora).

ok now I need to sleep! goodnight from Miami!

 

– Giselle

By the way, Check out our new “About Us” page!

 

Comments
10 Responses to “Velvet Mani by Ciaté”
  1. skaytanik says:

    People have been doing the “velvet” mani long before Ciaté- if you go to Michaels or another craft store and buy something called “flocking powder”, it’s the *exact* same thing that Ciate is selling for $20.00! I like to use pink flocking on pink polish so I have monster nails 🙂

    Same with the “caviar” manicures- I call them “bubble manis” so Ciaté can’t have a fit… which is funny, because before they came out with the caviar manicure another designer used that style of nail on the fashion runway a year before… but I digress 😛

    • megis217 says:

      Yea i dont understand why they throw such a hissy fit with people using the trademark name. Especially when people have been doing it before. Its cool that they offer it in “kit” format though which makes it accessible for everyone. but i myself always try to find the cheaper alternative so Thanks for the heads up on the “flocking powder” i will definitely go get myself some and try it out. =)!!

      • skaytanik says:

        The higher the quality of flocking powder the better the look- I always use Martha Stewart’s from Michaels- they come in tiny tubes, a little goes a long way 🙂 I also use a matte top coat on top before using the flocking- that way the polish that shows through is not as noticeable

    • Polishpedia says:

      So true. Couldn’t have said it better. Anybody wanting to do this the DIY way I highly recommend it. I did and loved it. I even created a DIY video to help others know how to do it. Here it is Velvet Nails Tutorial.

      Love

      ~Jocelyn (Nail Artist @ Polishpedia)

  2. hernameisfrank says:

    I can’t wait to try these! Oh and maybe Sprinkle nails instead of caviar? That’s what they look more like to me anyways

  3. I got the blue velvet and the rainbow caviar from Sephora two days ago but I just got my nails done at the Salon so i haven’t tried them yet. I am planning on doing a review with them soon once I try them.

  4. LACQUERLUV says:

    Ooh nice I must try

  5. lilvovo says:

    Some people have been saying fish egg mani.

  6. judit1661 says:

    Ciate does not own the rights to those names. They do not own the rights to the techniques. They tried to get bloggers to stop using beads from Michaels, and flocking powder from Michael’s so they could sell more $25 kits. What Ciate does is to take ideas from bloggers and go mainstream with their ideas, which is awesome, but it doesn’t mean they “own” the idea. They do however own their pictures. You can do whatever manicure you want, however you want and call it what you want, just dont use their pics.
    Just an FYI
    Judi

  7. Like another reader mentioned, I’ve heard the caviar one called the sprinkles mani or the beaded mani. I’m not a fan of paying that much money for nail stuff 😦

Leave a Reply

