OPI: Vintage Minnie Mouse Collection Swatches

image

Today I have the Vintage Minnie Mouse Collection by OPI 🙂 I purchased this set as soon as it came out (I was waiting for it since March!!!!) I swatched them but I never put them on the blog. Well finally today is that day! I am a complete Disney-holic, I actually just went to Disney World last week for my birthday and I am going back in two weeks! I was so excited for this collection, but I wasn’t completely blown away by these four shades. I think that OPI could have came out with an amazing collection, but they didn’t 😦 I still like all of the colors, but I don’t find them to be original. OPI seems to recycle older colors, tweak them a little and rename them (why mess with a good thing?) Don’t get me wrong I LOVE OPI, OPI started my love affair with nail polish, even though I love the collections they come out with.. it always seems to be the same type of colors.

“If you moust you moust” Swatches:

image

image

image

image

image

image

Description:

Giselle couldn’t understand why this shade of pink was in the collection.

I told her ” It’s the color of Minnie’s dress in Playhouse Disney”

Giselle: “Who knows that?!?!?!”

Me: “I guess Preschoolers and ME!”

Giselle: “How is that any help to normal people?”

Me: “Well its obvious”

Giselle describes  “If you moust you moust” as “Pepto Bismol” Pink.

(Giselle made this comparison with my swatch, the nerve!)

But I think it’s more the color of Minnie’s pink dress on “Playhouse Disney”. A lot of people (like Giselle and myself) don’t understand why this “vintage” collection is only shades of pink and red, Minnie’s “Playhouse Disney” pink dress is only about 3-4 years old (How do I know this? I worked for Disney when her dress changed colors, lol when you are a Disney-holic you take note of things like this..lol)

Rating overall (excellent, good, fair, poor): Excellent!

Color (1-5): 4

Formula (excellent, good, fair, poor): Excellent

Coats: 2 coats

Base coat/ Top coat: I used a clear base coat, but I didn’t need a top coat.

Stains: It didn’t stain my skin or my nails.

Dry time (fast, normal, slow): Fast!

Clean-up (easy, messy, hard): No need

Removal (fast, normal, slow): Fast!

Price: $8.50 for 15 ml bottle

Would I recommend to a friend: Yes, I think it is a pretty shade of pink.
“Nothin’ mousie ’bout it” Swatch:

image

image

image

image

image

image

Description: “Nothing mousie ’bout it” is a translucent pink base filled with pink glitter hearts and pink glitter dust. I was really looking forward to this top coat because I have been wanting a heart shaped glitter top coat, But it was just okay for me, I could have lived without it. OPI could have came up with a cooler top coat like: black Mickey head shaped glitter with black, red and white bar, hex and circle glitter. That could have been really cool.

Rating overall (excellent, good, fair, poor): Good

Color (1-5): 3

Formula (excellent, good, fair, poor): Excellent, I had no problem getting the hearts out of the bottle.

Coats: 2 coats

Base coat/ Top coat: I used a base coat, 2 coats of “If you moust you moust” and a top coat to smooth it out.

Stains: It didn’t stain my skin or my nails.

Dry time (fast, normal, slow): Fast!

Clean-up (easy, messy, hard): No need

Removal (fast, normal, slow): Fast!

Price: $8.50 for a 15 ml bottle

Would I recommend to a friend: Yes

“I’m all ears” Swatch:

image

image

image

image

image

Description: “I’m all ears” is a beautiful jewel toned pink with a pretty blue glitter dust shimmer. OKAY OKAY I must really LOVE this shade because I have 5 DIFFERENT polishes (from different brands) that they are this same shade of pink (post coming soon)..

I really have no idea what OPI was thinking putting this shade in the collection, it has nothing to do with Minnie other than the fact that it’s a shade of pink.

Rating overall (excellent, good, fair, poor): Excellent!

Color (1-5): 5

Formula (excellent, good, fair, poor): Excellent

Coats: 2 coats

Base coat/ Top coat: I did use a base coat, but I didn’t need a top coat

Stains: It didn’t stain my skin or my nails.

Dry time (fast, normal, slow): Fast!

Clean-up (easy, messy, hard): No need

Removal (fast, normal, slow): Fast!

Price: $8.50 for 15 ml bottle

Would I recommend to a friend: Yes, because I have 5 shades of this color….because I love it,I guess I’ll never run out!… 🙂

“The color of Minnie” Swatches:

image

image

image

image

image

Description: “The color of Minnie” is a beautiful shimmery red that looks like the red of a candy-cane (yummy!)

I didn’t appreciate this shade until I swatched it and then I fell in Love!I didn’t want to take it off, its so beautiful.  I really love red nail polish (have a a bunch), but none look like this shade, so I’m happy to have it!

Rating overall (excellent, good, fair, poor): Excellent!

Color (1-5): 5

Formula (excellent, good, fair, poor): Excellent

Coats: 2 coats

Base coat/ Top coat: I used a clear base coat, but I didn’t need a top coat

Stains: Stained during removal, but all reds do that!

Dry time (fast, normal, slow): Fast!

Clean-up (easy, messy, hard): Hard (stains)

Removal (fast, normal, slow): Slow (stains)

Price: $8.50 for a 15 ml bottle

Would I recommend to a friend: Yes, you will love it!

Where to purchase:

Anywhere OPI polishes are sold.

– Megan ❤

Comments
17 Responses to “OPI: Vintage Minnie Mouse Collection Swatches”
  1. I think I’ll pass on this collection. The only one remotely cute is the one with the hearts. I’ll wait for the next collection.
    Sorry Minnie!

  2. lilvovo says:

    I didn’t really get any of the pinks either…I was under the impression that it was “vintage” Minnie. Like…reds… And why not? Who knows….2 pinks that make me think nothing of Minnie and a red that pretty but I was almost expecting something creme. I’ll be showing Nothin’ Mousie About It soon. Scheduled for either tomorrow or Friday….Also, If You Moust- reminds me of the pink they just came out with early in the year- Nikki Minaj?? Too close.

  3. everysensory says:

    love the photos! They all really suit you. Looking at that picture of Minnie through the years, they really could have found a better colour range, hey. Still, pretty! 🙂

  4. glamdox says:

    Great swatches. The light pink reminds me of Zoya Shelby, which I got recently. I liked the one with the hearts, too. Looks really cute on you

    • megis217 says:

      Thanks so much! You know I have never tried Zoya polishes.. what do you think about them?

      • glamdox says:

        I adore them, absolutely my favorite brand. I like that there’s fewer chemicals, tons of colors, and they have alot of sales and now referral points (for the person referring, and the person using the link too). Great company and almost all of the polishes have a really nice formula too. I get the occasional color that’s a little runny or weird, but overall it’s fantastic stuff. (If you ever want a referral link, just let me know 😉 I think they give the person using the link points for a free bottle but you probably still pay s&h)

      • megis217 says:

        Awesome! I ‘ll let you know if I need it.. right now I’m into buying indie polishes..hehe

      • glamdox says:

        Thats cool 🙂

  5. lipstickhero says:

    Great post! Love The Color of Minnie!

  6. jdobypr says:

    Ok I am a man weighing in here LOL…first I never knew there was so much to blog about when it comes to nail polish, I just enjoy looking a a well manicured female hand…gott admit though I am very impressed with the info in this blog… #salute!

    Jerry

Leave a Reply

